Join JustParents for free to ask for advice and make new friends! It only takes 60 seconds. Join JustParents

Hitting out 20 month old - please help

benbarrattbenbarratt
posted 7 years 11 months ago
Please can anyone offer me some advise.. ?

I'm a single dad and split with my partner when my daughter was 14 months old. I've always been close to my daughter but split due to rowing with my x and not wanting my child to have to see it. Straight after the split it we decided that I was going to have my daughter every other weekend of which i have been doing for the past 6 months.

First of all there was a few tears when i picked her up but these would stop after after about 5 mins or so but it was nothing major.

Within the past month it has been a real battle and she has been a real nightmare and screams and fights as she does not want to go into her car seat, once she gets to my house she is fine but its the getting her in the car part, the last time i picked her up she cried for 40 mins and sayign she wants her mummy.

I agreed with her mum that i would not take her until she was better with me but said i would visit her at her mums house, the problem is now that when ever i go near her she runs away and say "no" and tries to hit me, she will not let me pick her up or anything, she is fine with everyone else apart from me, this is really upsetting for me as it has come as a shock that she could be like this all of a sudden when nothing has really changed.

Does anyone else have any advise ? i have been going to her mums place for the past 2 weeks and she is getting better but i dont want to ruin it by trying to take her away again ?

Help please :-)

GTTkelGTTkel