Join JustParents to ask for advice and make new friends! It only takes 60 seconds. Join for free

television

claireclaire
posted 1 decade 3 years ago
hello, this is my first topic starter so hopefully i will do it ok!

Im a student and im studying media studies for A- Level. Im doin a project entitled " Children are able to distinguish clearly between real and fictional violence in TV and Film"

My reason for posting on what looks like a very helpful forum!..is to see what parents think about the amount of violence shown in programmes.

Any thoughts on this would be helpful and greatly appreciated.

Thank You,

sliceslice
Hi there, My son Josh has concentration and behavioral issues and I have to say I have noticed that he has picked up alot from the telly, and I dont like it all. He is five so the programmes that he is now interested in and wants to join his friends playing are power rangers and teenage mutant ninja turtles,He watched one of these and I turned t over to his disgust,they have both incouraged him to fight and now I have to be really vigulant on what he watches. hope this helps xx kel

hipmommahipmomma
My son is just moving from toddler tv (stuff on very early and cbeebies/citv daytime) to little boy stuff, and i have noticed a difference in his behaviour. He loves things like oban skyracer(?) and turtles, transformers.

I know its a natural progression that you cant avoid, but if im honest id rather he wasnt watching it!

v_preciousv_precious
Difficult one this.

With my son (who is 10 now) I avoided all things violent and was (and still am to a degree)pretty vigilant with what violence I allowed him to watch. I did not allow guns or swords in the house. To my dismay at 3 years old he picked up a stick shaped a little like a gun and started 'shooting'. After that sticks became weaponry of all types from swords to catapults to bows.