Join JustParents for free to ask for advice and make new friends! It only takes 60 seconds. Join JustParents

Has anyone ever requested holiday during term time??

candgsmumcandgsmum
posted 9 years 4 months ago
We decided to go ahead with the holiday we booked (we need some time to relax LOL), so I asked for a holiday request form and filled it all out, but now I'm really worried they won't allow Charlotte the time off.

The form mentioned that they wouldn't allow reception children holiday off due to the transition into full-time school...Charlotte's had a week off already due to illness rather than holiday but I'm worried that will count against her Sad Charlotte has had no problems settling into school and i know other children have had holidays in her class (whether they were authorised, I never asked)!

Has anyone ever been told it's OK or been told no way??

SamuelSamuel
As a teacher, I absolutely hate it when a student misses school for around a week or more for any reason as when they come back the other students lose out as they have to weight for the missing one to catch up.

SamuelSamuel
Also, if they do deny you, she can still go, but the school would put it down to an unexplained no show some school authorities can fine you do and give you a telling off by the police due to not sending your children to school, which we nearly got for moving house when Mikey wasn't registered at a school at all for a month, even though he started school the January before he had to, but obviously nonsense is what the British government love.

GTTkelGTTkel
The thing is that if Charlotte is in reception she doesn't actually legally have to be at school yet!! Year 1 (the september after they turn 5) is when the law says your children have to go to school so I don't really see they can stop you as you have the option of a reception aged child to still be in pre-school or at home!!

I think a request form is just courtesy on your part.

gypseygypsey