Join JustParents for free to ask for advice and make new friends! It only takes 60 seconds. Join JustParents

Tips aand advice wanted!

trullitrulli
posted 1 decade 1 year ago
Hi,

I belong to a local(Oldham)group that is trying to build a soft play centre in our area. We want it to have a multi sensory room. So any advice or tips about what we should include in the building or what parents would benefit from , I'd be grateful for.

Thanks!

AlexAlex Moderator
I worked in a school where they had a snoozelan room-
I think must haves are:-heated water bed, fibre optic strands, bubble tubes, a tactile wall(with lots of different textures and things to do), we had a sound wall aswell- that was popular. There is so much

SassySassy
- My blog
My oldest son has special needs, here are some of the items in that kind of room that have attracted his attention and had a positive effect on his growth and development.

To Touch - Tables with activities such as rice (to be played with like sand) or water and bubbles.

To feel and look at - Alternate the surface of the floor. Attach posters to the ceiling. Use light projectors to create shapes and colors with light.

To smell and look upon - A window filled with plants growing in dirt, sand, water, air; can attract the attention of a child for hours.

Oh and do not forget comfortable chairs or benches for parents and care givers to sit on! Wink

trullitrulli
Thanks. Keep 'em coming I'm noting then all!

SassySassy
- My blog
Updates please!

How is your project going trulli ?

sliceslice
posted 1 decade 10 months ago