Join JustParents to ask for advice and make new friends! It only takes 60 seconds. Join for free

Worried about my two year old son's talking

Amy87Amy87
posted 1 decade 2 years ago
I'm new to this so nervous!
I have a lovely son Jake who's 2years and 2months old.
I'm worried about his talking as he only says around ten different words, he doesn't put them togeather to form any sort of sentances. He try's to say things buy get's very annoyed when only sounds come out.
Just wondered if anyone could give me any advice about what to do as I'm not sure myself! Thanks
Amy x

AlexAlex Moderator
I used to panic about my Sons talking especially when he did everything else so quickly but my HV kept saying he will do it when he is ready.

once he went to playschool and nursery (even though he was at the childminders all day) his speaking came on in leaps and bounds and he started string whole sentences together and not just 2 or 3 words like his peers. and now at almost 4 I cant shut him up

RichRich Moderator
The other thing to do to bring on speach is to sit and talk with your little one ( I am sure you do now anyway ), but that brings them on alot too, don't worry though, all children learn at different paces Smile

keep us posted Very happy

hapydazyhapydazy
Hi Amy87, My best friend's son didn't not "talk" until he was 3 years old... He had his own little jibberish language but no one could understand him and then a little before he turned 3 he started talking in full sentences right off the bat. Now he is 7 years old, very mature for his age and talks very well Very happy . I would try not to worry, I bet you won't be able to get him to stop talking before ya know it! Crazy

GTTkelGTTkel