Join JustParents to ask for advice and make new friends! It only takes 60 seconds. Join for free

confused about maternity pay and if i have to go back

kimbekimbe
posted 1 decade 3 years ago
hi im kim im 26 weeeks pregnant with my first i work as a health care assisstant ive been there over 2yrs will be 3 in november but i will be on matnerty leave then ,,, im very confused im taking full maternity leave including the 13 weeks unpaid ,, i have been told that i must return to work for 3 months after my matnity has finshed other wise i will have to pay all my mat pay back is this ture im very confused Confused

BedheadBedhead
They can't make you pay back statutory maternity pay which is what everybody is entittled to. I think it has changed slightly but when I had mine it was 90% of your earnings for 6 weeks and then £104 a week for a further 20 weeks. Some employers pay extra maternity pay over and above this and they do have the right to ask for that back if you don't return to work. If you are definately not going back you would probably be better doing what I did and asking them not to pay you the extra so you don't have to worry about paying it back.

sugarsugar Moderator
do u work for the NHS hun? I do and i get more than just SMP - i have to go bk for at least 3 month or pay back anything that is above SMP - i get 8 weeks full pay, 18weeks half pay +SMP and the last 13 weeks are just SMP - if i didnt go back i would have to pay back the full pay and half pay i get as its extraq and they dont have to give it to u its to get more ppl to come bk to work after having a baby! and SMPis now £112 a week

Kelly_CaitKelly_Cait
I'm not sure but you could try and get advice from either the job center or citizens advice.

ellee1984ellee1984
http://www.acas.co.uk/index.aspx?articleid=16 there really good i got my maternity advice from there when i found out i was pregnant. hope that will help you hun

kimbekimbe