Join JustParents for free to ask for advice and make new friends! It only takes 60 seconds. Join JustParents

when did people tell their work?

blessedblessed
posted 9 years 1 week ago
I work in a school and was going to tell the head I was pregnant aftre my 12 week scan. But I'm 6 1/2 and in maternity clothes. I show quite a lot (can no longer see feet!) and I thinking it can't be kept a secret for much longer. i know some of the staff are wondering... Any suggestions?!

thanks!
blessed

Join JustParents to remove this advert

glowingsunglowingsun
It's up to you whether you feel it's your jobs business in knowing. If you don't tell them though, they might become panicy and wonder if your planning on leaving with out much notice. Or if you do tell them, they will feel they will have to treat you differently. It all depends on what you do at your job or what your working around. Are you planning on going on pregnancy leave or what till after you've had the baby? And when are you planning on returning.These are some of the questions you should be prepared to answer to your boss, too.

angelsmomangelsmom
i told work staright away but my job involved lifting so didnt have much choice. id had a miscariage a few months before i fell with DD (they knew i was preggers then 2) so when id fallen i was relegated to light lifting and sitting at tills.

if you think they should know or you cant hide it tell the head in confidence, there may be a risk assesment that needs doing.

kristagkristag
I wasn't planning to tell work until my 12 week scan was done but they guessed. This was mainly because, like you, I started to show very quickly on and also I was feeling so sick my eating patterns changed. I only work in a small office so it's hard to hide even subtle changes.

You need to tell them when you feel it is right. Maybe you could just confide in a superior for now and leave the main 'announcement' until after you 12 week scan?

Good luck hon Hug

hannah81hannah81