Join JustParents for free to ask for advice and make new friends! It only takes 60 seconds. Join JustParents

"Protecting" children from nudity?

johnnyvegasjohnnyvegas
posted 9 years 3 months ago
Hi there,
I have a fantastic six year old boy called Duncan who I'm taking on holiday for the first time this year, and I have a couple of things I'd love to hear your opinions of.

With regards to the topic mentioned above - that of protecting children from nudity, and giving them a sense of what is acceptable and what is not - I wonder if it would be unnecessarily confusing for Duncan to take him to some of the European beaches where topless sunbathers abound.

Now please note that I am a successful photographer, and do a lot of portrait work, but I also do a fair bit of fine art work, some of which involves full or partial nudity (both male and female) - nothing titilating, purely artistic. As such, I have a very accepting nature when it comes to nudity, and neither my wife or I worry about covering up if our son see's either of us in the bath, or before we get dressed in the morning. I guess it's part of the learning process for him too.

Note that I never let Duncan (or my wife) come in to the studio during a shoot - not least as that be distracting and would not be professional, but I also wouldn't want him to see any of the models posing nude, although at some point, I guess, that should become less of an issue. Of course, sometimes he does see me working on the images after the shoot but never asks any questions. Of course, I'd be quite open if he did ask anything.